Am i an idiot or a hero?

Coming back from doing some Xmas ration shopping yesterday I noticed one of our feathered neighbours hanging around alot more than normal. Looking around I found that one of their chicks had fallen out of the next (they’re in a paperbark tree by the road). Luckily (or not) the chick had managed to paraglide down to the pavement, however the chick was too big and the parents too small for them to get it back inot the nest.

So being the souk I am I made a new nest for the chick (lined with only shreed socks and with holes for drainage) and making sure the parents were in view I placed it in the tree in the courtyard. At just over head height. As far as I could tell the parents have been still feeding the poor little mite and also have been visiting the courtyard to check out their baby’s new digs.

I know the chicks chances are now low but if I’d left it where it was it would have either got on the road or be crow bait. The kooks only stay in the nearby park so they wouldn’t have been a threat. Hopefully as the new nest is only a couple of meters away from the ‘home’ tree and as the parents are visiting, the chick will make it through to be a juvenile and will learn to fly and make it on it’s own.

I’ve got no idea of the species, but will try and take a couple of pics

14 Responses to “Am i an idiot or a hero?”

  1. nautilis Says:

    I saw the title to this post and reckon’d I knew the answer without even reading the post:-)

    Hope they weren’t Indian Minors.

  2. BigBadAl Says:

    Decisions Decisions.

    Idiot… Hero…

    I’ll have to think about it.

  3. LERMONTOV Says:

    Nothing like helping a chick find a new nest – a delicate operation that I attempt at the Cesspit

  4. karada007 Says:

    Yo humbug did you get any new crayons or coloring books?

  5. chazfh Says:

    No fortunately not or else I’d never hear the end of it!!

    Got home yesterday to find the ‘nest’ dumped in the courtyard so guess a local crow decided to have a quick snack. Oh well it got another day.

  6. chazfh Says:

    Hello stranger nice to see you’ve made it over here.

    You back in Brisvegas?

  7. chazfh Says:

    K no, no more pressies for Chaz…:(( *sniff*

  8. LERMONTOV Says:

    Yah, Bangin it out in Brissy until tomorrow – off to the farm for Xmas and then the Sunny Coast for NY’s
    Stay well

  9. bangarrr Says:

    Well best of intentions in spite of the result.

  10. karada007 Says:

    *Fly on the wall* I don’t really like it here…I want my own place on JS back

  11. chazfh Says:

    K I know where you’re coming from on this. :((

  12. chazfh Says:

    Lerm i expect to misbehave and attempt to shag any half decent women around, oh and rink and eat loads!! have a good one.

  13. havock21 Says:

    actually this reminds me of the scene in Armageddon, where they scour all over the fucking country side to find the ferals AFTER they get ashor…talk about all over the shop..Literally….

  14. Natalia the Russian Spy Says:

    David Chaz-enborough!

Leave a Reply

